25 Market St   Aberdeen, SD 57401

Office Hours 8:00-5:00 M-F

Main menu

You are here

Vital Records

The Register of Deeds office is authorized to issue copies of South Dakota vital records, such as birth, death and marriage.  Our office also issues burial permits and maintains burial records within each respective county.  According to state law, birth, death and marriage records are not open to the public; however, burial records are available.  The Register of Deeds office works closely with the South Dakota Department of Health concerning vital records matters in the state of South Dakota.  The Department of Health also issues copies of vital records and performs other various services important to South Dakota citizens.


Birth Records

South Dakota Birth records filed with the South Dakota Department of Health date back to approximately 1905. In order to obtain a copy of a birth record, a person must complete the Application for a Birth Record form and provide proof of identity. If an authorized representative is designated for the registrant, the authorization section of the application must also be completed and submitted along with a $15.00 fee for each copy requested. The 15.00 fee is required, by law, regardless of whether the record is found. Birth Certificate application forms and instructions are available at the Register of Deeds’ Office, or you may click here for vital record application forms.

If requesting the copy by mail, please include a self-addressed stamped envelope along with your money order made payable to the Brown County Register of Deeds and send to 25 Market St, Aberdeen, SD 57401 you may call us at (605) 626-7140.


Marriage Records

Marriage records in Brown County date back to 1884, some of which occurred when South Dakota was known as “Dakota Territory” – that is, before statehood and before individual counties were established.   Marriage certificates for marriages that occurred in South Dakota from 1970 to the present can be issued by any Register of Deeds office in the state, regardless of the county where the marriage occurred. 

If you wish to purchase a copy of a marriage certificate, please complete the required form, have the form notarized or provide proof of identification, and submit the application with the required $15 fee for each copy requested.  (Please see “Forms”).  A copy will be issued upon location of the record; however, if no record is found, the request is sent to the Department of Health to perform a further search.  If the Department of Health also fails to locate the record, the fee will be retained as a search fee and a “no record letter” will be issued by the Department of Health.

Marriage License Requirements


Death Records

Death records for deaths occurring in South Dakota from January 1, 1960 to the present may be issued by any SD Register of Deeds office.  In order to obtain a copy of a death certificate, the form must be completed, the $15.00 fee paid and proof of identification provided.  (Please see “Forms”).  The decedent’s name must be provided, along with their date of death and other relevant information requested on the application.  Upon location of the record, a copy is issued; however, in the event the record cannot be found, the request is forwarded to the Department of Health for a further search.  If no record is located, the Department of Health will issue a “no record” letter and retain the $15.00 as a search fee.


Burial Permits

Burial permits are records concerning a person’s burial.  This record is issued and filed by the Register of Deeds in the county in which the burial occurs.  Burial records provide various information concerning a deceased, such as their name, date of death, type of disposition, location of burial, the name of the funeral home, etc.  There are no restrictions for searching these records.  Burial Permits issued in Brown County date back to the 1920’s and are available to the public.


Marriage License Requirements


The requirements for obtaining a marriage license are as follows:

  1. Both parties must be 18 years of age or older.
  2. Both parties need to be present at the appointment to fill out a short application and sign their marriage license application in our presence.
  3. Each party must present government issued identification in order to apply for a marriage license.  A valid driver's license or passport is acceptable.
  4. The applicants' Social Security numbers are required on the application; however, the Social Security card does not need to be provided.
  5. The marriage license is valid for 90 days from the date of issue.  After 90 days it is expired and cannot be used.
  6. If a marriage license is purchased in the State of South Dakota, it must be used within the State of South Dakota and cannot be used in any other state. However, the marriage license may be purchased in one county in the state and the marriage solemnized in any other county within the state.
  7. The cost of the marriage license is $40.00 cash only. We do not accept checks or credit cards or debit cards.


If you are between the ages of 16 or 17:

  • You must have a parent or guardian's written notarized consent. This form is available at our office.  The parent or guardian can either come with the bride and groom and sign the form when the couple applies for the marriage license, or the couple will need to bring a written notarized consent with them at the time of application. All of the above requirements also apply in this case.